Fabulously Natural Apple Pie!

Standard

As I mentioned in my last post, I got a super bargain on apples at the local market over the weekend. As soon as I was done running errands, I put on my apron and started baking my first apple pie. The only reason I can say that this is my first apple pie is that all I used to make in the past was a sugar pie/apple pie. Half of the filling is the yummy sugar mixture and the other half apple. It’s an amazing recipe that I’ll definitely have to post one of these days but, this weekend, I wanted to get back to basics.

I got my pie and crust recipes from one of my favorite food blogs, Simple Bites. Click HERE for the adorable Aimee’s recipe. I don’t want to write it down because I want you all to go check out her blog as well!

So I made the pie and it was the prettiest one I’ve ever made. I think that in the past, I always worried about putting too much filling. Well, this time, I simply followed the recipe and didn’t worry about how big it looked. And boy, did it pay off! I wish I was a little bit more creative on my pie crust decoration but I was a little bit tired and got lazy. I guess I’ll have to make another one soon… ;)

Also, the title mentions that it’s a natural apple pie for two main reasons: it is sweetened with maple syrup instead of refined sugar, and the crust is made from scratch. Did I mention that this is one of the best crusts I’ve ever made? Aimee at Simple Bites has to be a food genius.

So here are a few pictures of my delicious pride…I mean pie! :

Now that I’ve made an apple pie, it will be time to tackle my next apple recipe… apple crumble? applesauce? apple butter? I guess we’ll have to see…

Leave a Reply

