Keeping My Momentum Going

Standard

As I mentioned in my latest posts, with my husband’s new traveling job, I made one new rule for myself: cook something new every week. Although Jeff ended up being home last week (yay!), I still wanted to follow my plan. I found recipes that we would both liked and headed to the grocery store.

For my lunches, I made taco salad. I followed this Paleo recipe, although I used turkey instead of beef, and added chopped onions. The seasoning was perfect. To make it a salad, I added diced bell peppers, diced tomatoes, shredded cheese, lettuce and spinach.

IMG_7802

On Tuesday, I made these pot sticker burgers with Asian slaw. They were super tasty although the slaw was a little bit too spicy for my taste. But that’s my fault, I should have skipped the crushed red peppers…I should’ve known better.

IMG_7846

On Thursday, I made slow cooker Mongolian beef. Although the preparation took a little bit more time than I expected, it was still stupidly easy to make and the result made the house smell amazing. I served the beef with steamed Jasmine rice and sautéed asparagus. When I asked Jeff to rate the dish on a scale of 1 to 5, he responded “I got a second helping. It means more than your scale.” Good point, honey, good point. If Mister Picky gets seconds, you know it was good.

IMG_7914

Although I had planned to make more, I only ended up needing two dinner dishes for the week. Partly because Jeff was out one night and I made a lazy but delicious bowl of pasta (regular boxed pasta and store sauce…don’t judge) and also because we caved in and got frozen pizza on Friday.

This week, I only have one recipe lined up so far: chicken salad for my lunches. The recipe I made was super simple but absolutely delicious. I apologize for the lack of quantities, I just threw it all in randomly.

Best-Ever Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breast, diced
  • Fuji apple, diced
  • Red grapes, halved
  • Fat free Greek yogurt
  • Natural peanut butter (or almond or nut-free butter)
  • Honey

What’s Next?

  1. In a large bowl, mix the chicken, apple and grapes.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk the yogurt, peanut butter and honey.
  3. Add the “sauce” to the chicken mixture and mix it all together.
  4. Voilà! Serve in sandwich, pita, lettuce wrap…or just eat it with a spoon!

I plan to have it tomorrow for lunch in a pita bread, and possibly try to make a lettuce wrap with it. Seriously, this is my new go-to chicken salad recipe. SO GOOD. I may or may not have had a few spoonfuls after I made it. I had to stop myself.

IMG_7982

Other than the best chicken salad ever, I don’t have any crazy recipes planned this week. My true excitement will be at the preschool: Dr Seuss theme, baby! I cannot wait to see the children’s faces when I tell them we’ll be making green eggs and ham, just like Sam-I-Am! :)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

